Last updated: June 01. 2013 10:44AM - 463 Views
Erik Spencer Hill
Staff Reporter

Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

The complete Northwest 1A/2A All-Conference list was recently released, and it includes standout players and coaches from area teams.


It was an exciting year for area football teams. Both South Stokes and West Stokes made it to the state playoffs, but couldn’t go the distance. Still, each area team had some standouts that show how much progress was made through the season.

Defensive selections included Dillon Rogers from North Stokes; J.J. Davis, Tanner Midkiff, Aaron Pentasuglia, Justin Rogers and Zack Singleton from South Stokes; Austin Long, Zack Manley, Brock Reynolds and Anthony Wilding from West Stokes. South Stokes’ Zack Singleton was named Defensive Player of the Year.

Offensive selections included Matthew Hopkins and Garrett Wood from North Stokes; Todd Gibbs, Jacquan Martin and Evan Scott from South Stokes; Jordan Evans and Rashad Witherspoon from West Stokes. South Stokes’ Jacquan Martin was named Offensive Player of the Year.

Honorable mention went to Jordan Manuel and Dustin Smith of North Stokes, Tyler Hawks and Dalton Lampley of South Stokes, and Grayson Cobb and Brett Whittington of West Stokes.

Cross Country — Boys

Stokes County selections included Sean Condon, James Hammonds, Justin Kenard from North Stokes; Justin Nelson from South Stokes; and Jason Barber from West Stokes. Also, Jimmy Dillard of North Stokes was selected Coach of the Year.

Cross Country — Girls

There were two area standouts for the girls cross country teams. Hannah McBride from North Stokes and Kaitlyn Stone from West Stokes made the list.


South Stokes had a successful golf season and several Sauras made the list. Maggie Abbott, Brooke Kiger, Megan Mabe, Brooke Martin and Nicole Rogers were selected. Jordan Myrick made the list as an honorable mention. Head Coach Kent Mendenhall was named Coach of the Year. Alivia Daniels was an honorable mention for West Stokes.


Will Kiser and Hunter Rothrock were selections from South Stokes. Matt Hopper, Thomas Hawkins, Zane McGhee, Will Moore, Cody Smith and Austin Snow were selections from West Stokes. The Wildcats’ Head Coach Andrew O’Neal was selected Coach of the Year.


Rebecca Gunter and Mallie Ziglar were selections from North Stokes. Leah Shelton from West Stokes made the list. Each area school had a couple of honorable mentions: Miranda Hammonds and Hannah Mabe from North Stokes, Tori Everly and Gina Rutledge from South Stokes and Abbey Emerson and McKayla Newsome from West Stokes.


Area volleyball teams had a strong season this year. Not surprisingly, each team had a couple of all-conference or honorable mention players. North Stokes’ Alexa Moorefield and Alli Nickell made the list. West Stokes’ McKala Bozman and Abby Harris made the list as well. Honorable mention went to Marley Bollman and Lauren Chesnet of North Stokes, Madison Clary and Taylor Rothrock of South Stokes, and Cassie Palmer and Brooke Spainhour of West Stokes.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Walnut Cove Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com